Before the end of this article, you will have learned how to free space in Google drive.
Google drive is amazingly outstanding, it is by far one of the best and most reliable cloud storage.
If you have a Gmail account, you most definitely have a Google drive account.
Using Google drive to store important files is cool, until you are faced with the dreaded prompt (YOUR STORAGE IS FULL).
There are only two ways to get out of this situation, the first is to delete files that will in turn clear space in Google drive. The second way is to buy extra storage.
Buying extra storage isn’t expensive at all, the least plan costs about $1 a month. There are bigger plans.
Without further ado, here is how to free space in Google drive.
How To Free Space In Google Drive
Here are the steps on how to free up space on Google drive. I would suggest that for this step you use a PC. It is easier to free space in Google drive from a PC than a mobile device.
1. Using a computer, view your files from large to small. (Click on the link to do so).
2. Select all the files you won’t be needing and trash them. You can do this by clicking on each individual file you do not want and then clicking on the trash icon located at the top right of your computer.
3. Go to your trash folder in Google drive and permanently delete the files by clicking on Trash > Empty trash.
After deleting it, you might notice that your storage space is still showing full.
Don’t go deleting all your files. After you must have deleted a good number of files from Google drive to clear space.
Allow for about 24 hours or less and the items you deleted will show in the available space.
Why is my Google Drive so full?
It is full because you probably have a lot of large files on your Google drive storage. Even after deleting files, your Google drive will be full because deleted files are stored in the trash folder. Your storage will become free 24 hours after you clear the trash folder on your Google drive.
Why is my Google Drive still full after deleting files?
Your deleting files don’t delete completely, they are moved to the trash or bin folder in your Google drive. You will have to permanently delete the files by going to Google drive trash folder and emptying the trash folder.
Can you recover deleted Google Drive files?
Deleted files will stay in the trash folder for a period of 30 days. Within this period, you can recover the files by simply going to trash > selecting the file you want > and clicking on recover file. If files are still in your trash after 30 days, it might be deleted permanently. This is not the case most times though.
That’s it guys, a clear and concise method on how to free up space in Google drive. You can decide to delete files from your Google drive, but if you can let go of the files, your best bet would be to purchase more storage. If you ask me, I would say the best option is to purchase more storage.
Thanks for stopping by, I hope this article has been of help.